Home | Music | Members | Contact | Basket

Francesco Mancini (b. 16th Jan 1672 d. 22nd Sept 1737) belongs to a generation of composers including Fago and Sarro who established themselves during Alessandro Scarlatti's absence from Naples between 1702 and 1708.

An important teacher, Mancini was Director of the Conservatorio di S Maria di Loreto as well as being first organist and maestro of the Capella Reale in Scarlatti's absence. Upon Scarlatti's return to Naples, Mancini worked as his deputy, only resuming his previous positions on the older composer's death in 1725.

Mancini's music is typically Neapolitan. His works are full of the sudden and unpredictable harmonic shifts which made early 18th century Neapolitan music sound so dramatic. His works include 29 operas, his operatic style combining contrapuntal elements of the past with the new buffa style, 7 serenatas, 12 oratorios, more than 200 hundred secular cantatas in addition to assorted sacred music and a small amount of instrumental music.

Perhaps best known for his recorder sonatas, Manciniís vocal works are greatly undervalued and show a concise and masterful style in miniature, influenced of course by his master Scarlatti, but displaying an individual inventiveness in melody and recitative structure.
James Sanderson
Easter, 2005

STOP PRESS!! There are now modern performing editions of 68 of Francesco Mancini's compositions available at this website with the addition of James Sanderson's edition of Francesco Mancini's La dove il bel sebeto for soprano & continuo:

"A languishing soul should not hope for pity, because in you is beauty and cruelty combined." Oh, how melodramatic can you be? Wonderful, sinuous first aria (listen to the MIDI) and a spry allegro to finish in this RARA form cantata. Tirsi and Irene are in their usual predicament...
MIDI Preview | Score Preview
Price: £ 4.95
Click here to purchase.
You are visitor 8628 since January 27th, 2005.

This site is a member of Cantata Editions | Click here to visit another site

Designed and hosted by Cantata Editions © 1998 - 2018. All rights reserved.
This site uses cookies to enable our shopping cart system - Data is not shared with any other organisation.
By continuing to use the site you agree to this exclusive usage.